Multiple find/replace from a pre-defined list?

Tool for Search and Replace across multiple files.
Jaybee

Multiple find/replace from a pre-defined list?

Post by Jaybee »

Hi,

Just discovered TextCrawler and have been playing around with the Lite version but I can't quite get my head round the syntax I might need to do what I want. Wondered if I can just check this before purchase? Here's what I need it to do:

1) I am a photographer with thousands of images
2) I have images that have keywords in them so they can be found in a database.
3) I have a new project that is going to require the updating/replacement of some keywords in many of the images. For example, where I may have the word "people" in an image's keyword set I need to change that keyword to "incidental people". Where I may have the word "city" I need to add the keyword "urban view" etc. There are many more variants like this (probably about 100).

To do this by hand would take months (open image in editor, change keywords that need to be changed from pre-defined list, re-save etc). Looking at TextCrawler I think it can do this automatically... I just can't work out how... :)

The good news is I already have a program that can export all my keyword sets to a csv or text or xls file and then re-import them to the correct image file once modified, so that's sorted. I just need to be able to modify the keyword sets automatically.

Once a range of images is exported I'd have a text file (let's call this the "Keyword file") with hundreds of rows that can look like this:

filename1.jpg[tab] cat, dog, horse, field, gate, green, outdoors (etc)
filename2.jpg[tab] boat, ocean, outdoors, sea, blue (etc)
filename3.jpg[tab] house, street, city, road, pavement, door, car (etc)

I have another text file that has the "replacements" or "additions" that are needed where a keyword exists (let's call this the "Replacements file table"):

existing[tab]replacement/addition
city[tab]urban view
cat[tab]feline